X

Monday 26
August

Formula 1

Alfa complaints will make me quit - Raikkonen

9th August 2019, 14:25 by James Mason

Kimi Raikkonen has revealed he will quit Alfa Romeo Racing if they have any complaints about his activities away from F1.

What drivers get up to during Formula 1's mid-season break is hotly debated with Mercedes star Lewis Hamilton, who currently leads the Drivers' Championship, often talked about due to his thrill-seeking adventures.

Finland's Raikkonen is known to enjoy his rallying during his time away from F1 and while that may come as a worry to his team, he revealed he will walk away from Alfa if they lodge any complaints at him.

"I haven't read my contract because it's worth zero as far as I'm concerned," PlanetF1 quoted him as telling Hungarian media. "When we first talked to Alfa Romeo-Sauber, I told them that if they complain about anything, if they whine, I'm not here anymore!

"There are many dangerous things in life. Of course, one always tries to be careful, but it is enough to talk about the problem if it happened."

Raikkonen, who is tied down to Alfa until the end of the 2020 season, also spoke about the potential changes that could be made to the sport for the 2021 campaign.

He added: "One way or another, everyone has an opinion on the rules, but I don't know how much of that they take it into account. I know that drivers want to influence the new rules through the GPDA and if they ask me, I will tell them what I think."

This article originated on sportinastorm.com

James Mason grew up in Northumberland so is entrenched in both the football and golf scenes. A low handicap golfer, he also follows Newcastle United and predicts big things under Rafa Benitez.

More Williams

Formula 1

Alfa will be patient with Giovinazzi

25th August 2019, 19:24

Alfa Romeo team boss Fred Vasseur says Antonio Giovinazzi’s future at the team is not under threat despite speculation to the contrary.

Formula 1

Sainz relaxed despite good form

25th August 2019, 18:52

McLaren driver Carlos Sainz says not panicking after his bad start is the key to his excellent current form.

Formula 1

Mercedes set to tie down Bottas

25th August 2019, 13:06

Mercedes are reportedly close to tying down driver Valtteri Bottas to a new one-year contract for 2020.

Formula 1

Leclerc ahead of Scuderia curve

24th August 2019, 16:12

Team principal Mattia Binotto says Charles Leclerc has made a stronger start to his Ferrari career than the team anticipated.

Formula 1

Red Bull progress pleases Verstappen

24th August 2019, 13:12

Max Verstappen has been satisfied with Red Bull's season so far and admits he wasn't expecting two victories at this point.

Formula 1

Hamilton not considering retirement

23rd August 2019, 15:28

Lewis Hamilton insists he has no plans to retire from Formula One anytime soon and he could pen a contract extension with Mercedes.

Recent Sport Headlines

Bournemouth

Cherries fear worst for injured defender after City loss

26th August 2019, 04:01

Bournemouth boss Eddie Howe has concerns over defender Charlie Daniels after he picked up another serious looking knee injury against Manchester City.

Wolverhampton Wanderers

Nuno happy with hectic schedule as Wolves are held

26th August 2019, 02:31

Nuno Espirito Santo insists the hectic start to the season did not have an impact as Wolves laboured to a 1-1 draw against Burnley on Sunday.

Cycling

Ireland's Roche leads Vuelta

26th August 2019, 01:39

Colombia's Nairo Quintana won stage two of the Vuelta a Espana, but Ireland's Nicolas Roche leads the overall race.

Golf

McIlroy claims £12m prize at East Lake

26th August 2019, 00:58

Rory McIlroy finished the season in style when winning the Tour Championship at East Lake to secure the FedEx Cup title.

Tottenham Hotspur

Poch in dark over Eriksen future and says Spurs are unsettled

26th August 2019, 00:31

Mauricio Pochettino says he has no idea whether Christian Eriksen is staying with Tottenham as the European transfer deadline fast approaches.

Newcastle United

Tottenham Hotspur 0-1 Newcastle United

25th August 2019, 20:32

Joelinton scored the only goal of the game as Newcastle recorded their first win of the season with a 1-0 victory away at Tottenham.

Southampton

Besiktas make move for Saints midfielder

25th August 2019, 20:00

Besiktas officials are heading to England to discuss a deal for Southampton’s out-of-favour midfielder Mario Lemina.

Rugby League

Castleford keen to get Watts back fit

25th August 2019, 19:58

Castleford Tigers are hopeful that prop Liam watts will be back to full fitness ahead of their match with St Helens next week.