Garcia to face no action after apology
Sergio Garcia will not face any disciplinary action after deliberately causing scuff marks on the greens in Saudi Arabia.
At the inaugural Saudi International, Garcia was frustrated with his own play and damaged five of the first nine greens by dragging his shoes along the ground and causing a divot in one of the holes, which was noticed by the following groups of players.
Despite the best effort of the green-staff to repair the damage, it still remained for the entire round and put other players off in their tracks.
The 39-year-old was disqualified at the end of the round under rule 1.2a in the European Tour code which reads "players are expected to play in the spirit of the game by acting with integrity, showing consideration to others and taking good care of the course".
Garcia apologised publicly and also to the players that went behind him and it is believed that his remorse for his actions has convinced authorities not to suspend him..
Accepting the punishment, Garcia said: “I respect the decision of my disqualification. In frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, for which I apologise, and I have informed my fellow players that it will never happen again.”
Daniel McCarthy is a reporter who is very knowledgeable about football at all levels, and a keen Leeds United fan. He also follows darts, snooker, motorsport, and rugby league.